

# AL2448 - The Portraits of ANC Leaders

Call Number: AL2448

Title: The Portraits of ANC Leaders

SubTitle:

Creator: Inventory prepared by Razia Saleh

Origination: Film Resource Unit

Inclusive Dates: 1993 Bulk Dates: 1993

Extent: 8 paintings on fabric

Language: English

Acquisition: Accession Number: 94-002

Access Restrictions: This collection is open for research

Use Restrictions: Copyright restrictions may apply. See SAHA copyright statement for Use Restrictions.

Copyright: Finding Aid: © The South African History Archive (SAHA)

Abstract: These portraits portray the African National Congress (ANC) President-Generals, including John

Dube, Dr Moroka, Chief Albert Luthuli, O.R. Tambo, Josiah Gumede, Pixley Ka- Seme and Nelson Mandela, and painted in 1993. These portraits were commissioned by the Film Resource Unit for the public launch of \"Ulibambe Lingashoni - Hold up the Sun\", a five part video documentary series on the ANC and popular power. The artists are from J V Graphix. From 1912 until then the ANC had inaugurated ten presidents. However, only nine were painted and only

eight are found in this collection.

### Introduction

The painting of the portraits of the President-Generals of the ANC was commissioned by the Film Resource Unit for the public launch of 'Ulibambe Lingashoni - Hold Up the Sun', a five part video documentary series on the ANC and popular power in the making.

The artists are from of J V Graphix, silk screen and sign-writers.

The painting is done on navy blue fabric.

From 1912 to 1993 the ANC has had ten presidents. Only 9 portraits were painted, and only eight are found in this collection.

The President-Generals of the African National Congress (ANC) 1912-1993

1. John Dube 1912 - 1917

2. S M Makgatho 1917 - 1924

3. Z R Mahabane 1924 - 1927

4. Josiah Gumede 1927 - 1930

5. Pixley Ka Seme 1930 - 1937

6. Z R Mahabane 1937 - 1940

7. Dr A B Xuma 1940 - 1949



# AL2448 - The Portraits of ANC Leaders

8. Dr James Moroka 1949 - 1952

9. Chief Albert Lutuli 1952 - 1967

10. Oliver R Tambo 1967 - 1969 (acting)

1969 - 1991

11. Nelson R Mandela 1991 - 1997

#### **Notes**

These paintings were painted in 1993. From 1912 to 1993 the ANC has had ten President-Generals. Only 9 portraits were painted, of which only eight are found in this collection. These are:

- 1. John Dube
- 2. Josiah Gumede (not sure)
- 3. Pixley ka Seme (not sure)
- 4. Unidentified
- 5. Dr Moroka
- 6. Chief Lutuli
- 7. O R Tambo
- 8. Nelson Mandela

### Classification

1: John Dube

2: Unidentified

3: Dr Moroka

5: Nelson Mandela

6: Chief Albert Lutuli 1952 - 1967

7: Oliver R Tambo 1967 - 1969 (acting), 1969 - 1991

8: Nelson R Mandela 1991

## Inventory

1: John Langalibelele Dube

2: Josiah Tshangana Gumede

[1947]

Born 1870s?, d1947?

One of the founding members of the ANC. Served as president for 3 years, between 1927 - 1930. Also hailed from Natal

3: Pixley Ka Isaka Seme

[1951]

Died 1951

Seme succeeded Gumede and served until 1937. Also one of the founder members of the ANC from Natal

4: Unidentified



# AL2448 - The Portraits of ANC Leaders

#### 5: Dr James S Moroka

[1949]

Born1891

Also a medical doctor, Dr Moroka became president in 1949, and served until 1952 when he was narrowly defeated by Chief Lutuli

#### 6: Albert John Lutuli

[1967]

Born 1898, died1967

President from 1952 till his death in 1967. Chief Lutuli received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1960

### 7: Oliver Reginald Tambo

[1917]

Born 1917, died1993

Oliver Tambo was one of the founder members of the ANC Youth League in the 1940s. He was Secretary-General of the ANC from 1954 - 1958.

He left the country in March 1960 to set up ANC in exile.

After the tragic death of Lutuli in 1967, he served as acting president.

At the Morogoro Conference in 1969 he was elected President-General of the ANC. He headed the ANC throughout its period in exile.

#### 8: Nelson Rolihlahla Mandela

[1918]

Born 1918

Also founder member of the ANCYL. He as the first accused in the Rivonia treason trial and sentenced to life imprisonment in Robben Island.

After his release from prison in 1990, he was elected Deputy President of the ANC and in 1991 succeeded his ailing friend and comrade as President-General of the ANC.

In 1994, after the victory of the ANC in the first democratic elections held in this country, he became President of (the new) South Africa.